Children's University


Please welcome Children’s University Tasmania!

We are delighted to announce the first member outside of South Australia to join Children’s University Australia, Children’s University Tasmania. Lead by the University of Tasmania, Children’s University Tasmania will be hosted out of three campuses, Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast.

The University of Tasmania’s Peter Underwood Centre of Educational Attainment proudly launched Children’s University Tasmania at the Moonah Arts Centre on July 1 2015. The launch was well attended with representation from all sides of the political spectrum, potential Public Learning Destination representatives, school principals and the Governor of Tasmania. Stirring speeches were delivered by University of Tasmania’s  Vice Chancellor, Prof. Peter Rathjen, Minister for Education and Training Jeremy Rockliff and the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Prof. David Sadler. Currently, Children’s University Tasmania has 12 schools that have come on board.

The students from Windermere Primary School (pictured) were joyful participants in a Social Circus workshop during the launch and represent the first school to sign on as a member of Children’s University Tasmania.

Tasmania has shown that it is embracing the concept of Children’s University and the Children’s University Tasmania Team are continuing to work hard as more and more schools and Public Learning Destinations express their interest in being involved.